The White Shadow Of Norway By Luis Santana (The Hip Hop Herald) 

They say every dark cloud has a silver lining. Well in this case it’s more of a White Shadow. In the wake of the Game fiasco that went down in Norway I just wrote about I was asked to now bring the real shine that is Norwegian hip-hop.

 Realistically there is nothing I can possibly write about White Shadow that hasn’t been written already "He started as a club DJ in Norway in the late 70's, won two DMC Norwegian mixing champ titles in 1988, and 1989, moved to New York in the early 90's, and DJ' d all the top clubs, and venues there. He was a member of the Boogie Down Production extended family, which resulted in him doing cuts for, and co-producing Jamalski's song "Hangin' Tree" which was used as part of the soundtrack for the Arnold Schwarzenegger film "Last Action Hero." He was also the opening act for Jay-Z, Busta Rhymes, Gangstarr, Main Source, Pete Rock & CL Smooth, KRS-One, Funkmaster Flex, and many more at various shows in New York. Back in Norway from the mid '90s and into the 2000s Shadow continued to DJ clubs, and venues while producing, and doing cuts on records which lead to him working with Craig G, Kool G Rap, Canibus, The Roots, Army Of The Pharaohs, Supastition, Tash (Alkaholiks), Easy Mo Bee, and many more. He won a best Turntablist Award at the Norwegian Hip Hop Awards in 2004, and is the only DJ to win the award. In Norway, he is labeled as a living legend because of his involvement with Hip-hop for decades worldwide.” ( With that said, let me focus on his latest endeavor "Savage” which is a mixtape with beats, production, cuts, mixing and mastering all done by White Shadow himself. There are 17 tracks with an army of rappers that literally kill track after track. This is a must listen, must have mixtape. You can listen to the album here and cop it on iTunes by clicking on the alum cover above which I strongly suggest. Check out the track list below and I am sure you will agree with me, this is a classic. Enough said. The mans work speaks for its self.


Track List

1. Lyrical Apocalypse (feat. Chino XL, Mark Deez & Perseverance)

2. Brutes & Savages (feat. Dr. ILL, Klive Kraven, Powder, Phes One (Clokworx) & Celph Titled)

3. The World (feat. Sha Stimuli, Viro The Virus & Awkword)

4. Victory Cigar (feat. Alltruisms, Lance Ambu, Verbal Kent & Rusty Chains)

5. Hip Hop Will Never Die (feat. The B-Boys)

6. Cluedo (feat. Son Of Saturn)

7. Professional Assassins (feat. Evil Intentions & Rich Mahogany)

8. Operation Shutdown (feat. Banish & Aims)

9. Soldiers (feat. Wordsworth & Clepto)

10. The Blitz (feat. Lt. Mana)

11. The Art Of Raw (feat. Pryme Prolifik, Reakt20, SyckSyllables & Kwote1)

12. Three The Hard Way (feat. Ruste Juxx, Awkword & Poison Pen)

13. Conspiracy Of Silence (feat. Vinnie Paz & Genocide)

14. Walking Wonderful (feat. Infinito 2017)

15. Master Plan (feat. The Pizdamen)

16. Death Trap (feat. Absolute Karnage, Fatha Death, Danegurous & YedidYah Ben Sion)

17. Final Call Of The Barbarians (Dedication 2) (feat. Masta Ace, Virtuoso, The Problemaddicts & Edo G)

Added by: Watcher, 13/Jun/24 | Comments: 0
comments powered by Disqus

Login form



[ Full Size ]

Worth a visit

ads ads ads ads ads ads