David Banner & 9th Wonder Announce Release Date for Joint Album 

Death Of A Pop Star To Be Released on November 9th via Banner’s Own Big Face Entertainment

After months of talking about their much buzzed-about concept album, Grammy winners David Banner and 9th Wonder are excited to announce a release date of November 9th for Death Of A Pop Star. The album will be released through Banner’s own Big Face Entertainment. The seemingly unlikely partnership grew legs when the two Southern boys discovered they shared a lot in common, including misconceptions due to their fame about how they hold the power to resurrect hip-hop music. "There’s a lot of pressure because people think we have all the money and the answers,” explained Banner in a recent interview with AllHipHop.com.

Formerly intended as a mixtape, the project developed into a full-length album as Banner and 9th realized the significance of Death Of A Pop Star. "David Banner and I both share the same views on topics such as manhood, being black in America in present day, and the state of black music in general," says 9th of the collaboration. In a recent HipHopOfficial.com interview Banner says that most people think the album title refers to the death of being a pop star but he insists they chose the title so they could not only talk about the album but also the death of contemporary music. 9th Wonder further articulated, "We’re talking about the death of contemporary black music."

Following the release of the first song "Slow Down” the album’s next single will feature fellow Southerner, Ludacris, on a song entitled, "Be With You.” Other guest spots on the project include Heather Victoria and Big Remo.

Death Of A Pop Star drops November 9th, 2010.

Check out David Banner & 9th Wonder's "Slow Down" Video

Added by: EmSeeD, 12/Aug/10 | Comments: 1

Lyrical Beast Canibus To Release New Album C Of Tranquility October 5th 

Polemical Emcee Reaffirms His Skills On Tenth Studio Release

(August 11, 2010) - New York, NY - Acclaimed and controversial Jamaican-born emcee Canibus is proud to announce the release of his brand new LP entitled C Of Tranquility. The 15 track album will be available on October 5th from Interdependent Media, the label responsible for releases from Tanya Morgan, Finale, J*DaVeY, Moe Green, K'Naan, and co-founded by Evan "TRUTHLiVE" Phillips.

C Of Tranquility, Canibus' tenth studio album, features production credits from DJ Premier, Jake One, Scram Jones, The Bizness, J-Zone and Slopfunkdust and proves that he is just as on point now as when he was first hand-picked by Wyclef Jean for the sensational debut LP Can-I-Bus. in 1998. His widely-known lyrical prowess, along with a knack for creating songs that double as personal statements, is even represented in some of the track titles on the release. "Merchant of Metaphors," "Free Words," and "The Messenger's Message" all deliver on their promise of insightful and dexterous wordplay. Having been deemed by several rap magazines as being one of the best lyrical freestyle rappers, Canibus recognizes this record as his opportunity to showcase his skills once again, implying that C Of Tranquility is the culmination of years of practice and progress. "Sometimes life will beat you down just to remind you that you're alive," Canibus said during a 2009 interview with Conspiracy Worldwide Hip-Hop Radio. "There's no better time than the present to try and actualize your dreams."

Canibus' career dates back to the early 90's, when he managed to make a name for himself by engaging in emcee battles with Wu-Tang Clan and the Def Squad, even before the release of his much-anticipated 1998 debut, Can-I-Bus. The record first appeared on the Billboard 200 at position No. 2, behind Lauryn Hill's The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill, and went on to sell more than 500,000 copies in its first year. In 2000, he entered into the world of acting, holding a supporting role as "Mo Blak" in the Spike Lee satire Bamboozled. The same year also brought about 2000 B.C., his sophomore follow-up featuring the first collaboration of The HRSMN, a hip-hop supergroup composed of Canibus, Ras Kass, Kurupt, and Wu Tang's Killah Priest. They would next come together on The Horsemen Project - a collection of demos and outtakes originally recorded in 2001 - which was released in 2003, immediately following his critically acclaimed fifth studio album, Rip the Jacker. This past February, Canibus' Melatonin Magik entered in at the #91 spot on the Hip Hop Billboard charts. The single, "Airstrike," was an internet sensation, garnering 1 million downloads in its first week.

On C Of Tranquility, Canibus is in peak-condition, establishing that nothing can slow him down, not even service in the United States Army or being lauded -prematurely, perhaps - by fans and critics alike as hip-hop's next "Great One." Ultimately, what has made him the rapper - and the man - he is today is his ability to persevere and to look to the future.

Canibus' C Of Tranquility drops October 5th via Interdependent Media.

Check out Canibus song "Golden Terra of Rap" produced by DJ Premier


Added by: EmSeeD, 12/Aug/10 | Comments: 1

DJ MUGGS vs ILL BILL - "ILL BILL TV" (Official Video) 

New Epic music video from DJ Muggs & Ill Bill

PRE-ORDER DJ MUGGS vs ILL BILL "KILL DEVIL HILLS" CD/T-shirt deluxe package NOW at www.ILLBILL.com - DJ MUGGS vs ILL BILL - "ILL BILL TV" Official Video (Directed by Tom Vujcic) - DJ MUGGS vs ILL BILL "KILL DEVIL HILLS' IN STORES August 31st 2010

Added by: EmSeeD, 11/Aug/10 | Comments: 1

Login form



[ Full Size ]

Worth a visit

ads ads ads ads ads ads